Professional Experience Preparation

23 Apr

As I was reading a fellow pre-service educator Miss Philp’s blog, I read a recent blog post Week 9, post 3: Where will ideas for Assignment three come from? As soon as I finish one assignment, I see we need to start thinking about the next one! But, this assignment is a little more practical as it is directly related to prac. I had a look in the Week 9 learning path which takes us through all we need to know for professional experience and there were a couple of things that I know I need to dive deeper in before I go… 

1. What model will I be using…. I need to have a greater look at the TIP model which looks at integrating ICT’s into teaching. This blog explains it really well. Have a look at this picture as well to get a greater knowledge of the model.

2. Don’t just substitute, enhance! It’s no good just using the smartboard in the same way I have used a white board… Enhance learning, don’t just substitute it! 

3. Prepare students for a new learning enviroment. This should be one of my biggest purposes as a teacher working with ICT’s… Start to prepare students for real life contexts and new ones so that they are experts.

 

Definitely some food for thought… 

 

I also downloaded a lot of the resources I needed for prac so that I could get ahead on it. I already know where I am going, and I am just waiting for final confirmation. I am looking forward to going back to the same school I went to last semester. I am very lucky that I already know the teachers, the school and a lot of the students so I am already one step ahead in my preparation process. 

2 Responses to “Professional Experience Preparation”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Michelle Thompson - Somebody TIP Me! - April 26, 2013

    […] to understand the implications of this model. Lauren has also blogged on this topic in her blog “Oh, The Places You’ll Go!” Referring to ICTs, she mentions what she has learnt this week, saying ”Don’t just […]

  2. Learn alongside with the student — Life Long Learning - May 4, 2013

    […] necessary, shift from being the ‘expert’ to the ‘ learner’ alongside the child.Reading both Lauran and  Gen’s blogpost about Post visit to the prac site had given me some great little tips […]

Leave a Reply

